About - Board



The Board includes the governor and four gubernatorial appointees from each member state, including at least one state legislator and one educator. The Legislative Advisory Council of legislators from each state advises the Board. Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, right, is 2019-20 SREB chair.



Kay Ivey, Governor of Alabama, Montgomery, ex officio (2023)

Alan Baker, State Representative, Brewton (2021)

Terri Collins, State Representative, Decatur (2023)

Mark Dixon, President, A+ Education Partnership, Montgomery (2022)

Eric Mackey, State Superintendent of Education, Montgomery (2020)



Asa Hutchinson, Governor of Arkansas, Little Rock, ex officio (2023) Chair of the SREB Board

Joyce Elliott, State Senator, Little Rock (2020) 

Bill Gossage, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor, Little Rock (2022)

Lori Griffin, Principal, Ballman Elementary School, Fort Smith (2021)

Teresa Inman, District Instructional Technology Coordinator, Paris (2019)



John Carney, Governor of Delaware, Dover, ex officio (2021)

Susan S. Bunting, Secretary of Education, Wilmington (2021)

Robert W. Rescigno, Assistant Vice President, Academic Affairs, Wilmington University, Milford (2019)

Darryl M. Scott, former State Representative, Dover (2020)

David P. Sokola, State Senator, Newark (2022)



Ron DeSantis, Governor of Florida, Tallahassee, ex officio (2023)

Karin Hoffman, Vice President, Sonshine Educational Tours, Coral Springs (2020)

T. Patterson Maney, Shalimar (2021)

Joe H. Pickens, President, St. Johns River State College, Palatka (2015)

Rene Plasencia, State Representative, Orlando (2022)



Brian Kemp, Governor of Georgia, Atlanta, ex officio (2023)

Matt Arthur, Commissioner, Technical College System of Georgia, Atlanta (2021)

Terry England, State Representative, Auburn (2020)

Jack Hill, State Senator, Reidsville (2018)

Fran Millar, former State Senator, Dunwoody (2019)



Matt Bevin, Governor of Kentucky, Frankfort, ex officio (2019)

Laura Arnold, Director of Workforce Development, Nelson County Public Schools, Bardstown (2022)

John “Bam” Carney, State Representative, Campbellsville (2021)

Derrick W. Graham, State Representative, Frankfort (2019)

Mardi Montgomery, Director K-12 Initiatives and Partnerships, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond (2020)



John Bel Edwards, Governor of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, ex officio (2020) 

Cynthia Hedge-Morrell, New Orleans (2018)

Monty Sullivan, President, Louisiana Community and Technical College System, Baton Rouge (2020)

Francis C. Thompson, State Senator, Delhi (2021)

John C. White, State Superintendent of Education, Baton Rouge (2019)



Larry Hogan, Governor of Maryland, Annapolis, ex officio (2023)

John D. “Jack” Bailey, State Senator, Mechanicsville (2023)

Gail H. Bates, Member, State Board of Education, West Friendship (2022)

Robert L. Caret, Chancellor, University System of Maryland, Adelphi (2020)

James D. Fielder, Secretary of Higher Education, Baltimore (2021)



Phil Bryant, Governor of Mississippi, Jackson, ex officio (2020)

Terry Burton, State Senator, Newton (2020)

Videt Carmichael, State Senator, Meridian (2022)

Mimmo Parisi, Professor and Director, National Strategic Planning and Analysis Research Center, Mississippi State University, Starkville (2021)

Pat Ross, Education and Workforce Development Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor, Jackson (2019)


North Carolina

Roy Cooper, Governor of North Carolina, Raleigh, ex officio (2021)

Tamara Barringer, Clinical Associate Professor of Legal Studies, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Cary (2020)

Elease Frederick, retired Superintendent, Enfield (2023)

Graig R. Meyer, State Representative, Chapel Hill (2021)

Shirley Prince, Executive Director, North Carolina Principals and Assistant Principals Association, Wilmington (2022)



Kevin Stitt, Governor of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, ex officio (2023)

Chad Caldwell, State Representative, Enid (2022)

Tom Friedemann, retired Superintendent/CEO, Francis Tuttle Technology Center, Oklahoma City (2020)

Glen D. Johnson, Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Oklahoma City (2019) Vice Chair of the SREB Board

Jennifer Monies, Member, State Board of Education, Oklahoma City (2021)


South Carolina

Henry McMaster, Governor of South Carolina, Columbia, ex officio (2023)

Rita Allison, State Representative, Lyman (2020)

Melanie Barton, Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor, Columbia (2018)

Nikki G. Setzler, State Senator, West Columbia (2021)

Molly Spearman, State Superintendent, Columbia (2019)



Bill Lee, Governor of Tennessee, Nashville, ex officio (2023)

Beth Cox, Hendersonville (2020)

Eddie Smith, former State Representative, Knoxville (2022)

Mark White, State Representative, Memphis (2021)

L. Anthony Wise, President, Pellissippi State College, Knoxville (2019)



Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, Austin, ex officio (2023)

Pedro Martinez, Superintendent, San Antonio Independent School District (2019)

Mike Morath, Commissioner of Education, Austin (2018)

Raymund A. Paredes, Commissioner of Higher Education, Austin (2021)

Larry Taylor, State Senator, Friendswood (2020)



Ralph Northam, Governor of Virginia, Richmond, ex officio (2022)

Leanna Blevins, Assistant Vice President for Health, Science and Technology Education, Virginia Tech Carilion, Roanoke (2020)

R. Edward “Edd” Houck, former State Senator, Spotsylvania (2019)

Janet D. Howell, State Senator, Reston (2022)

Glenda R. Scales, Associate Dean for Global Engagement and Chief Technology Officer, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg (2021)


West Virginia

Jim Justice, Governor of West Virginia, Charleston, ex officio (2021)

Thomas W. Campbell, Financial Officer, State Board of Education, Lewisburg (2021)

Paul Hill, former Chancellor, Higher Education Policy Commission, Charleston (2020)

Robert H. Plymale, State Senator, Huntington (2022) Treasurer of the SREB Board

Roman W. Prezioso Jr., State Senator, Fairmont (2019)